Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Dear Librarian Reply: The Pilar Perez Medallion

Alai Agadulin, Junior Writer/Researcher of Adarna House, Inc., replied to me and Darell Marco on his query about the Pilar Perez Medallion Award --

Good day, Mr. Marco!

The Pilar Perez Medallion for Young Adult Literature was created with the collaboration of the following: The Filipinas Heritage Library (FHL), Powerbooks, Adarna House, Inc., Candy Magazine, and National Book Store (NBS). The goal of the organizers was to launch a YA literature contest to boost the industry of the YA literature.

The same organizers stood as the judges of the contest which was launched in 2001 and re-launched in 2002. However, the criteria for judging were not made known to the public.

In 2001, the organizers decided to name three (3) winners of the 2001 Pilar Perez Medallion for Young Adult Literature to jump-start the industry. These are:

v Jacobo’s Ghost by Annette Flores Garcia
v Mga Ako by Amalia Salamat
v ‘Sup by Maria L.M. Fres-Felix

On the other hand, in 2002, only one was chosen the best among the other entries. It was:
v Anina ng mga Alon by Eugene Evasco

All these books were published by Adarna House, Inc. and the Filipinas Heritage Library.

The YA literature contest was halted after its two-year stint because the organizers, publishers, and distributors had a hard time selling the published novellas despite the efforts to boost the YA literature.

May this information suffice to the needs of your research about the Pilar Perez Award.

Maraming salamat po!

Thank you to Adarna House for lending answers to Darell's questions. I have another question though. Will the Pilar Perez Medallion see the glory of resurection?

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...