Saturday, March 25, 2006

Alcala Honorable Winners 2006

If American Children's Literature has the Caldecott Medal
, we have the Alcala Prize. This year, two illustrators will be proclaimed as honorable winners on July 18, 2006 for their work on two of the three honorable winning story of the Salanga Prize.

Jomike Tejido's rendering of Rosario and Her Stories by Ian Casocot.

Tony Espiritu Santo's (an pseudonym?) study of What Buboy Sees by Mariel Nadal.
alcala 2006 winner_toni_buboy sees

For a list of Caldecott Winners, click this. The American Librarians Association has been awarding the Caldecott Medal and Honorable Winners since 1938. Take note that "librarians" are the ones giving the award. That goes to show that reading, the promotion of it and the development of its culture in homes and at school, is "our" business.

Once the PBBY website is up and going, I'll post a link for the Alcala Prize Winners. The award was named after cartoonist Larry Alcala.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...