Wednesday, April 30, 2008

The 2008 Salanga and Alcala Awards

Judging the Salanga Prize for two years in a row made me choose change this year.

I opted to wrestle with Ruben "Totet" De Jesus (PBBY President) and Liza Flores (Ang INK) for the Alcala Prize. This year's winner is none other than Serge Bumatay III. Two in a row for Bumatay since he won the Alcala last year for Jean Patindol's Tight Times.

For more information on the Salanga and the Alcala, visit the PBBY website. It is the 25th National Children's Book Day this year and the grand winners for both awards will be given quite a sum as cash prize.


Anonymous said...

Hi Zarah -

It's always interesting to know what books have won prizes on your side of the world. I will have to visit the PBBY site to find out more. Look forward to hearing more about your 25th National Book Day and the celebrations planned!
Corinne Robson

Zarah C. Gagatiga said...

hi corrine! yes, i will be blogging about it :-)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...